Archives for category: Milan


Corso Garibaldi, not far from railway station


Interior detail: the Monk

santa maria incoronata - the monk

Corso Garibaldi 116 Milano

O Simon mago, o miseri seguaci
che le cose di dio, che di bontate
deon essere spose, e voi rapaci
per oro e per argento avolterate,
or convien che per voi suoni la tromba,
però che ne la terza bolgia state


O Simon Magus, o miserable followers
that the things of God, that of goodness
ought to be the brides, rapaciously
for silver and for gold adulterate,
Now must for you the judgment trumpet sound,
since you are doomed here in the third fosse

cà granda milano

After changing some attributes to a picture, a Lucio Fontana’s sculpture takes a totally new form.

decomposizioneFontanaCimitero Monumentale di Milano, Chinelli Memorial

March 28 – 30, 2014
Friday and Saturday from 12.00 pm to 7.00 pm
Sunday from 11.00 am to 7.00 pm
entrance viale Scarampo,
gate 5, pav. 3,
20149 Milan
Vernissage and Preview (on invitation):
March 27, 2014

Gian Giacomo Poldi Pezzoli bought this Boltraffio’s painting in 1864, you can see it in the Poldi Pezzoli Museum in Milan.

Read or listen to the description of this painting on the Museum‘s website.


In August the Museum is always open except the 15th and Tuesdays. 14th and 21st August free entrance.

The Laocoon made by Ginori Manufactory after the antique, is made in the so called masso bastardo: thick white pigment covers a grey and hybrid past, made of less pure clays

Laoccon is an hellenistic group found in Esquilino Hill in 1506

Concert in San Simpliciano

One of the four basilicas built by Saint Ambrose after 374 AD on the roads leading out of the city and thus forming a cross

Program of the concert (Wolfgang Zerer. organo):

Johann Ludwig Krebs – Preludio e fuga in do maggiore

Johann Sebastian Bach  – “Dies sind die heiligen zehn Gebot” BWV 678

Fughetta super “Die sind die heiligen zehn Gebot” BWV 679

“Wir glauben all en einen Gott” BWV 680

Krebs?/Bach? “Wir glauben all an einen Gott” 2Clav e Ped.

Johann Ludvig Krebs – Fantasia à gusto italiano

Johann Sebastian Bach – Sonata in sol maggiore BWV 530

Johann Ludvig Krebs – “Herzlich lieb hab ich dich, o Herr” a 2 Clav e Ped.

Johann Sebastian Bach Toccata, adagio e fuga in do maggiore BWV 564


Ticket 10 Euro


basilica virginum, one of the four built after 374 AD by saint ambrose